Donald C Vance John C Morris Rebecca E Simpson Hot start sets pace for Broncos’ 85-40 win over CNE G-Men get off to 1-1 start Lady Rockets start off season with tough string of road games Basketball Special: 2017-18 Katherine J Wolfe Virginia J Germann Rev Commadora Manning Mona K Kirker Ohio Rural Heritage Association donates to Food Pantry RULH FCCLA attends meeting in D.C. RULH MS students try ‘Tabletop Twitter’ Ripley Village Christmas update Bonita Planck Carol J Wagner Christopher O Richey Sr Five new members to enter WBHS Athletic Hall of Fame Blue Jays ready to soar under Woodward Fischer named to OPSWA All-Ohio First Team of football all-stars High school girls’ hoop action kicks off in Brown County Formation of new joint Fire & EMS District discussed RULH students learn about ‘Global Food’ Personal financial management class at RULH High School Dale G Ferriel John E Slack Nicholas A Arthur Bonnie J Roush Charles E Faul Phyllis A Mills Carl L Watson Marc W Bolce Robert R Moore Robert K King June R Williams William T Ishmael Sr Deborah J Napier High school hoop action begins Fayetteville SAY Girls Wing Soccer Team finishes season among state’s Final Four Devils visit Georgetown for OHSAA Foundation Games Grandfather charged in boy’s death ‘Real Money’ at RULH Middle School Ripley High School celebrates Veterans Day Reward increases for information leading to conviction in Stykes’ murder Ripley Village Christmas update Kenneth M McKinley Vilvens signs with Mount St. Joseph SBAAC awards girls tennis all-stars Layman inducted into Miami University Athletic Hall of Fame SBAAC hands out awards to First Team girls’ soccer all-stars John D Marks Aberdeen Police Department receives ‘Shop With a Cop’ donation Benefit to take place Nov. 17 for Grace Copple St. Michael students take part in Community Soup Supper Voters return Worley to the bench Ruby A Ratliff Donna J Moore Stella M Glasscock Ellen L Gelter Alverda T Guillermin Justin N Beach EHS dedicates ‘Kiser Court’ SBAAC awards First Team football all-stars, winning teams Sizer earns SBAAC American Division Volleyball Player of Year honors for 3rd straight year Broncos to host Blue Jays for OHSAA ‘Jimmy Young’ Foundation Game, Nov. 17 Vern W Kidd Jr Brown County Election Results – 2017 Michael D Hines Raymond W Napier Leslie E Boyle Gary L Barber RULH NHS welcomes new inductees K-9 Units and handlers visit RULH High School EMS members honored for service Road work on Ripley streets to begin Russell K Wolfer SHAC recognizes volleyball all-stars SHAC cross country all-stars take home awards Eastern girls finish runner-up in SHAC golf standings Week 10 football roundup Kathleen J Bright Sister Marjean Clement Veterans Service Office Moves RULH MS students hold first Science Club meeting Bald Eagles spotted 2017 Celebration of Lights being planned Carlos L Beck Georgetown XC teams qualify for regional championship meet Warriors advance to Div. II Regional Meet Lady Rockets reach end to successful volleyball season Week nine football roundup Lady Warriors regional bound Amy J Caudill Bertha Lindsey Bobby S Conley Ripley Council considers insurance changes, will be making repairs on Rankin Hill Road PRC Walk for Life raises $4,600 Mary E Hahn Gary R Cornette

Runners compete at Vern Hawkins XC Invite

Georgetown’s Katlin Colwell crosses the finish line to place third overall in this year’s Vern Hawkins Cross Country Invitational held in Georgetown, Sept. 13.


G-Men finish 2nd of 8 teams – 

By Wade Linville – 

Cross country teams from eight high schools ventured to Georgetown on Sept. 13 to compete in this year’s Vern Hawkins Cross Country Invitational. There were a total of 88 runners finishing the high school boys 5K race with the Batavia Bulldogs finishing in first place with a team score of 54, and the Georgetown G-Men finishing runner-up with a team score of 58.
Leading the Bulldogs was Ridge Cook, who took first place with a winning time of 18:35.28.
Leading the G-Men to the finish line was Tanner Ellis, who placed fifth overall with a time of 19:21.27.
Joshua Galley was the second G-Man to cross the finish line, placing seventh overall with a time of 19:33.81.
Emerson Cahall was the third G-Man to cross the finish line, placing 11th with a time of 19:42.26.
Georgetown’s Garrett Ernst placed 23rd with a finish time of 21:00.39, while teammate Anthony Carrington finished 25th with a time of 21:19.76.
The Ripley-Union-Lewis-Huntington Blue Jays finished in seventh place with a team score of 168, and finishing eighth was the Fayetteville-Perry Rockets with a score of 217.
The Blue Jays were led to the finish line by Tristan Fisher, who placed 20th overall with a time of 20:44.45.
Ripley’s Clinton Barley placed 40th with a finish time of 22:47.89, and the third Blue Jay to reach the finish line was Carey Wright, who placed 47th with a time of 23:22.39.
Ripley’s Alex King placed 48th overall with a finish time of 23:25.72, and rounding out the Blue Jays’ top five was Thomas Whaley, who finished 51st with a time of 23:54.41.
The Fayetteville-Perry Rockets were led to the finish line by Stuart Fisher, who placed 34th with a time of 22:08.45.
Fayetteville’s Cryztopher Norris ran for a 52nd place finish with a time of 23:56.02, while teammate Michael Thackston placed 74th with a time of 28:27.02.
The fourth Fayetteville runner to cross the finish line was Christopher Saylor, who placed 76th with a time of 29:11.91. Rounding out the Rockets’ top five was Jarret Lawson, who placed 80th with a finish time of 31:41.37.
1. Batavia                54
2. Georgetown        58
3. West Clermont    75
4. Felicity-Fr.        112
5. Blanchester       114
6. Goshen              125
7. Ripley                168
8. Fayetteville        217
In the high school girls race at this year’s Vern Hawkins Invite, it was West Clermont finishing first among five teams with a score of 61. The Felicity-Franklin Lady Cardinals finished runner-up with a team score of 65, and the Georgetown Lady G-Men placed third with a team score of 66.
Blanchester’s Savannah Rhodes led all runners to the finish line on the field of 52, posting a winning time of 22:09.06.
Leading the Georgetown Lady G-Men to the finish line was Katlin Colwell, who placed third overall with a time of 22:45.73.
Georgetown’s Olivia Waits placed 11th overall with a finish time of 24:43.14, while teammate Grace Burrows placed 18th with a time of 25:56.75.
Georgetown’s Allyson McHenry placed 19th with a finish time of 26:22.94, and rounding out the Lady G-Men’s top five was Cameron Cluxton, who placed 45th overall with a time of 36:46.03.
1. West Clermont    61
2. Felicity-Fr.          65
3. Georgetown        66
4. Batavia               72
5. Goshen               78
In junior high cross country action, it was the Eastern Brown Middle School boys team winning this year’s Hawkins XC Invite, while winning the junior high girls race was the team of Mt. Orab Middle School.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright The Ripley Bee