Stella M Glasscock Ellen L Gelter Alverda T Guillermin Justin N Beach EHS dedicates ‘Kiser Court’ SBAAC awards First Team football all-stars, winning teams Sizer earns SBAAC American Division Volleyball Player of Year honors for 3rd straight year Broncos to host Blue Jays for OHSAA ‘Jimmy Young’ Foundation Game, Nov. 17 Vern W Kidd Jr Brown County Election Results – 2017 Michael D Hines Raymond W Napier Leslie E Boyle Gary L Barber RULH NHS welcomes new inductees K-9 Units and handlers visit RULH High School EMS members honored for service Road work on Ripley streets to begin Russell K Wolfer SHAC recognizes volleyball all-stars SHAC cross country all-stars take home awards Eastern girls finish runner-up in SHAC golf standings Week 10 football roundup Kathleen J Bright Sister Marjean Clement Veterans Service Office Moves RULH MS students hold first Science Club meeting Bald Eagles spotted 2017 Celebration of Lights being planned Carlos L Beck Georgetown XC teams qualify for regional championship meet Warriors advance to Div. II Regional Meet Lady Rockets reach end to successful volleyball season Week nine football roundup Lady Warriors regional bound Amy J Caudill Bertha Lindsey Bobby S Conley Ripley Council considers insurance changes, will be making repairs on Rankin Hill Road PRC Walk for Life raises $4,600 Mary E Hahn Gary R Cornette Week 8 football roundup Notable soccer season reaches end for G-Men Lady Broncos are SBAAC American Division XC champs SHAC XC title goes to Lady Warriors Arthur Smith Eugene M Jennings Jr Billy R Kilgore Sr Carol D Roberts Thelma L Gray Ripley FFA off to a busy start this year Ripley River Village Christmas adds new events Man found dead in ditch Rev Alvin B Woodruff Jackson L Russell Lady Broncos bring home 11th SBAAC American Division title in 12 years Lady Rockets wrap up regular season Warriors rally for win Broncos make it two in a row Helen L Whalen Veterans saluted at the Brown County Fair Prints available of Eagle Creek Bridge, by local artist Tommy J Stamper Sue Day Broncos move closer to SBAAC American Division title Lady G-Men working hard, showing improvement Sports complex soon to open in Mt. Orab Week 6 football roundup H Ray Warnock Ripley McDonalds robbed overnight Familiar pizzeria in Ripley has new owners Linda Taylor Rene Sizemore-Dahlheimer Eugene Snider Eric Workman Gregory Terry Edith M Moore Eileen Womacks Michael C Jennings Janice K Brunner Cheer squads compete at ‘Little State Fair’ Truck, tractor pulls draw a crowd at Brown County Fair Week 5 football roundup Lady Broncos rise to 11-6 with win over Batavia Broncos buck Clinton-Massie, Goshen James H Boyd Warren A Stanley Jane R Ernst Darrell F Anderson James W Ball Jr June R Paul Robert Kattine Tony W Ratliff Carroll G Boothby Ripley Council addresses roof replacement and paving projects Beasley Farm to remain agricultural forever Janet R Whitt Jacqualine Attinger L Mae Spencer

RULH board meeting kicks off school year

By Martha Jacob –

The Ripley Union Lewis Huntington Board of Education met on Aug. 17, attended by all board members, Superintendent Dr. Linda Naylor, board treasurer Jeff Rowley, several employees and member of the public.
Following opening remarks, the board entered into executive session to discuss employment and compensation of a public employee.
After exiting the executive session Superintendent Naylor gave a brief report on the beginning of the year activities and meetings she had attended since Aug. 1, including county and regional meetings and conferences.
“On Aug. 8,” Naylor said, “ the administrative staff had the opportunity to hear Mr. Jamie Voltmer, nationally known speaker and writer and a strong advocate for public schools.
“On Aug. 15, our teachers and administrators also had the opportunity to hear Jeanette Walls, who is a nationally known speaker and writer and author of New York Times bestseller, “The Glass Castle.” Both speakers were an inspiration to our staff, in regards to getting the school year off to a great start.”
During the meeting, treasurer Rowley indicated that the premiums for medical insurance for both family and single plans would increase by 5.13% and that the premium for dental insurance would increase by 9.33%. Rowley asked for the boards approval to sell five buses and a passenger van at auction on Sept. 10, 2016. He also requested that the board approve the Student Activity and Budget Purpose Clauses for the 2016-2017 school year, as well as the purchase of three storage buildings, one for each school site.
In other business at the meeting, the board authorized approval of current bus routes and designated stops for this school year.
The board also discussed the easement with the Village of Ripley for water wells along the river.
The board later approved a contract with FRS Connections in Hillsboro for special education services for the upcoming school year.
The board accepted the resignation of Michael Barbieri, high school math teacher, Tammy Whaley as middle school yearbook/prom sponsor, and from Jayna King, paraprofessional aide.
Approved by the board for employment were Sue Miller, cook, Trent Jones, high school math, April Michael, elementary and middle school guidance counselor and April Henderson, 6th grade math/social studies, Debbie Gray, 6th grade social studies/science teacher and Bonnie Krieger, middle school intervention specialist.
Supplemental and extended services contracts were approved for returning staff. New extended service contracts were awarded to:
• Shelby Schelling for Vocational Agriculture;
• April Michael for guidance counselor;
• Tammy Whaley for vocational Education.
Supplemental contracts were awarded to:
• Patricia Skaggs, middle school tech assistant;
• Holly Hayden and Vicki Asbury as middle school A+ coordinators.
The board approved several new academic/fine art supplemental contracts including:
• Justin Birchfield, middle school academic team;
• Kendra Eichenlaub, middle school newspaper;
• Patricia Skaggs, middle school yearbook;
• Holly Hayden, middle school spelling Bee;
• Jennifer DePompei, 8th grade Power of the Pen.
The board approved the Brown County Education Service Center substitute lists for use in the district and approved updates to RULH classified substitute list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright The Ripley Bee