Stella M Glasscock Ellen L Gelter Alverda T Guillermin Justin N Beach EHS dedicates ‘Kiser Court’ SBAAC awards First Team football all-stars, winning teams Sizer earns SBAAC American Division Volleyball Player of Year honors for 3rd straight year Broncos to host Blue Jays for OHSAA ‘Jimmy Young’ Foundation Game, Nov. 17 Vern W Kidd Jr Brown County Election Results – 2017 Michael D Hines Raymond W Napier Leslie E Boyle Gary L Barber RULH NHS welcomes new inductees K-9 Units and handlers visit RULH High School EMS members honored for service Road work on Ripley streets to begin Russell K Wolfer SHAC recognizes volleyball all-stars SHAC cross country all-stars take home awards Eastern girls finish runner-up in SHAC golf standings Week 10 football roundup Kathleen J Bright Sister Marjean Clement Veterans Service Office Moves RULH MS students hold first Science Club meeting Bald Eagles spotted 2017 Celebration of Lights being planned Carlos L Beck Georgetown XC teams qualify for regional championship meet Warriors advance to Div. II Regional Meet Lady Rockets reach end to successful volleyball season Week nine football roundup Lady Warriors regional bound Amy J Caudill Bertha Lindsey Bobby S Conley Ripley Council considers insurance changes, will be making repairs on Rankin Hill Road PRC Walk for Life raises $4,600 Mary E Hahn Gary R Cornette Week 8 football roundup Notable soccer season reaches end for G-Men Lady Broncos are SBAAC American Division XC champs SHAC XC title goes to Lady Warriors Arthur Smith Eugene M Jennings Jr Billy R Kilgore Sr Carol D Roberts Thelma L Gray Ripley FFA off to a busy start this year Ripley River Village Christmas adds new events Man found dead in ditch Rev Alvin B Woodruff Jackson L Russell Lady Broncos bring home 11th SBAAC American Division title in 12 years Lady Rockets wrap up regular season Warriors rally for win Broncos make it two in a row Helen L Whalen Veterans saluted at the Brown County Fair Prints available of Eagle Creek Bridge, by local artist Tommy J Stamper Sue Day Broncos move closer to SBAAC American Division title Lady G-Men working hard, showing improvement Sports complex soon to open in Mt. Orab Week 6 football roundup H Ray Warnock Ripley McDonalds robbed overnight Familiar pizzeria in Ripley has new owners Linda Taylor Rene Sizemore-Dahlheimer Eugene Snider Eric Workman Gregory Terry Edith M Moore Eileen Womacks Michael C Jennings Janice K Brunner Cheer squads compete at ‘Little State Fair’ Truck, tractor pulls draw a crowd at Brown County Fair Week 5 football roundup Lady Broncos rise to 11-6 with win over Batavia Broncos buck Clinton-Massie, Goshen James H Boyd Warren A Stanley Jane R Ernst Darrell F Anderson James W Ball Jr June R Paul Robert Kattine Tony W Ratliff Carroll G Boothby Ripley Council addresses roof replacement and paving projects Beasley Farm to remain agricultural forever Janet R Whitt Jacqualine Attinger L Mae Spencer

R-U-L-H School Board prepares for new year, Pay to Participate fees lowered

By Martha Jacob –

Members of the Ripley-Union-Lewis-Huntington Board of Education met in regular session on June 15.
Superintendent Dr. Linda Naylor gave a brief report on various meetings and activities that she had attended since the last board meeting;
“We had our 2016 high school graduation ceremony, highlighting 81 graduates of the Ripley High School on May 29,” Dr. Naylor said. “Our high school gymnasium was full of family, friends and guests of the graduates in honor of the accomplishments of the Class of 2016.”
In other actions at the meeting, Food and Nutrition Supervisor Michele Rau gave her annual report on the food service program, including changes to the National School Lunch Program.
Ms. Rau also presented the revised Wellness Policy for the board to consider. The District Wellness Committee met during the 2015-2016 School year to make recommendations for policy revisions. The committee will meet again at the beginning of the 2016-2017 school year to finalize plans for the district and building wellness programs.
Melody Dragoo spoke briefly to the board regarding her concerns for the school district, including changes in teaching staff and student enrollment and withdrawals.
Board treasurer, Jeff Rowley presented the 2015-2016 school year’s final amended certificate and final appropriations resolution, as well as the temporary 2016-2017 appropriation resolution. Both items were approved as presented.
Rowley noted that funds generate by the permanent improvement levy had been used recently to purchase two new buses which will be ready for the start of the 2016-2017 school year, as well as new computer towers for district classrooms and offices.
Rowley provided an update on the HB264 Project, (energy saving program) which is well underway in all buildings across the district.
“This project allows the district to make energy-saving capital improvement,” Rowley said. “These include new LED lights and new HVAC controls and enveloping to buildings, and pay for the capital improvements over time with the savings.”
Rowley added that without the HB264 Project, the energy-saving improvements would be well beyond the district’s budget.
Superintendent Naylor made the following recommendations to the board:
• approve a bus maintenance service contract with Applegate’s Auto Service beginning June 22, 2016 and running through June 21, 2021;
• accept the resignations of Patricia Skaggs as cafeteria supervisor, Gregory Jordan Maiberger as high school business teacher, Amanda Beetem as middle school intervention specialist, Emily Godby as high school math teacher and Heather Butler as 6th grade math teacher;
• approve employment of Jennifer Hartman, high school intervention specialist, Erin Kinder, middle school intervention specialist and Michael Barbieri as high school math teacher;
• approve Jason Thompson as high school athletic director;
 • approve removal of Donna Fizer on the classified substitute list and approve the addition of George Nick Swanger to the classified substitute list;
• approve several policy revisions;
• approve meal prices for 2016-2017 school year, increasing full price lunches across the district by .15 cents in order to comply with federal reimbursement guidelines;
• approve revisions to the Pay to Participate guidelines, fees for participation in athletic programs were reduced from $75 to $50 at the junior high per sport and from $100 to $75 at the high school per sport. Multiple sport caps wer reduced from $150 to $100 at the junior high and from $200 to $150 at the high school. Family caps wer reduced from $300 to $250.
The board approved all the recommendations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright The Ripley Bee