Lewis recognized by EHS Athletic Dept. Western Brown wrestling team tops Tigers in regular season dual Broncos even at 3-3 Lady Rockets blast past CCP, fall to Bethel-Tate Angela L Shuler John C Otten Grace Pedigo plays cello for class at RULH RULH fourth grade math class hard at work RULH MS students visit Aronoff Center Fifteen indicted by Brown County Grand Jury Rita Tarvin Rocket win streak reaches five G-Men ascend to 4-0 in SBAAC National Division with win at Williamsburg Jays soar to 3-1 with win at North Adams Young Lady Jays improving as season progresses Mary J Yockey Callie J Maynard Windle Blanton Daisy D Nevels RULH HS students visit Jungle Jims Aberdeen Council has busy end of the year River Village Christmas celebration begins SR 41 now open Gast’s three-point shower drowns the Tigers Lady Rockets capture wins over Ripley, Batavia Keplinger signs with Shawnee State Warriors down the Devils, fall to the Greyhounds Broncos edge out Williamsburg, 53-50 Carol S Newman John E Short RULH Elementary names ‘Go Green’ Students RE/MAX Local Experts opens in Williamsburg RULH wraps up ‘No Shave November’ fundraiser Eleven indicted by Brown County Grand Jury Donald C Vance John C Morris Rebecca E Simpson Hot start sets pace for Broncos’ 85-40 win over CNE G-Men get off to 1-1 start Lady Rockets start off season with tough string of road games Basketball Special: 2017-18 Katherine J Wolfe Virginia J Germann Rev Commadora Manning Mona K Kirker Ohio Rural Heritage Association donates to Food Pantry RULH FCCLA attends meeting in D.C. RULH MS students try ‘Tabletop Twitter’ Ripley Village Christmas update Bonita Planck Carol J Wagner Christopher O Richey Sr Five new members to enter WBHS Athletic Hall of Fame Blue Jays ready to soar under Woodward Fischer named to OPSWA All-Ohio First Team of football all-stars High school girls’ hoop action kicks off in Brown County Formation of new joint Fire & EMS District discussed RULH students learn about ‘Global Food’ Personal financial management class at RULH High School Dale G Ferriel John E Slack Nicholas A Arthur Bonnie J Roush Charles E Faul Phyllis A Mills Carl L Watson Marc W Bolce Robert R Moore Robert K King June R Williams William T Ishmael Sr Deborah J Napier High school hoop action begins Fayetteville SAY Girls Wing Soccer Team finishes season among state’s Final Four Devils visit Georgetown for OHSAA Foundation Games Grandfather charged in boy’s death ‘Real Money’ at RULH Middle School Ripley High School celebrates Veterans Day Reward increases for information leading to conviction in Stykes’ murder Ripley Village Christmas update Kenneth M McKinley Vilvens signs with Mount St. Joseph SBAAC awards girls tennis all-stars Layman inducted into Miami University Athletic Hall of Fame SBAAC hands out awards to First Team girls’ soccer all-stars John D Marks Aberdeen Police Department receives ‘Shop With a Cop’ donation Benefit to take place Nov. 17 for Grace Copple St. Michael students take part in Community Soup Supper Voters return Worley to the bench Ruby A Ratliff Donna J Moore Stella M Glasscock Ellen L Gelter Alverda T Guillermin Justin N Beach EHS dedicates ‘Kiser Court’ SBAAC awards First Team football all-stars, winning teams Sizer earns SBAAC American Division Volleyball Player of Year honors for 3rd straight year Broncos to host Blue Jays for OHSAA ‘Jimmy Young’ Foundation Game, Nov. 17

‘Class of 1966’ Alumni celebration

By Martha Jacob –

It’s been 50 years since the graduating class of 1966 from Ripley High School received their diplomas.
The Ripley Alumni Association has been busy organizing the upcoming class alumni reunion, scheduled to begin at 5 p.m. with a social hour and a dinner/meeting set for 6 p.m. on Saturday, May 28 at the Ripley Elementary School, according to Alumni Association member Betty Campbell.
“We are holding our event at the Elementary School because the Ripley High School will be setting up to honor this years graduates the following day,” Campbell said.
“It’s hard to believe but the RULH High School Alumni Association has been active for more than 80 years.
“At our alumni dinner this Saturday, we will welcome and induct the newest members to the Alumni Association with the current ‘Class of 2016’.”
According to Campbell, also being recognized at the Alumni Reunion will be members of the graduating classes from 25 years ago (1991) the class from 30 years ago (1986), the class from 40 years ago (1976) and 60 years ago (1956).
“I am a graduate of Ripley High School from the class of 1966,” Campbell said, “and I am so excited to attend this event. When I graduated we had 70 graduates, which, at that time, was the biggest class to ever graduate from the school.
“Paul Grippa, who was president of our class will speak on behalf or our graduating class. We are also thrilled to recognize Dwight Marriott who graduated from Higginsport High School 80 years ago.”
Campbell said that two $500 scholarships will be awarded by the association as well as four Thomas Glenn DeFosse “Self Reliant Awards.”
“Tom DeFosse was from our class of 1966,” Campbell said, “he was a member of the Marine Corps and was the only soldier from Ripley who died in the Vietnam Conflict.”
The four ‘Self Reliant Awards’ are sponsored by four area banks from Higginsport and Ripley.
Musical entertainment will be provided by Harriett Groh, also a Ripley High School graduate.
Matt Carpenter is the president of the Ripley Alumni Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright The Ripley Bee