Rural Heritage Quilt Show winners RULH Elementary first graders take on new technology 2017 DAR Charity Golf Scramble St. Michael students visit “Living Lands and Waters” RULH High School reaches out to those in need Lillian E Cowdrey Catherine A Houk Warriors win Jim Neu XC Invite Week 2 football roundup Broncos unbeaten at 4-0 Lady Broncos compete in Bob Schul XC Invite Ronnie L Day Nettie F Lightner Buildings demolished, Village waits to be paid Ohio Rural Heritage Festival celebrated Henry E Fields Anleah W Stamper Maxine M Garrett U.S. 68 reopens Drought ends for Lady Rockets G-Men rise to 3-1 with back-to-back victories Rockets cruise to 4-0 win over Jays Lady Broncos start off SBAAC American Division play with 3-2 win over Goshen Week one football roundup Preparation begins for Ripley River Village Christmas celebration 3rd Annual Job Fair sponsored by Open Arms*****Always helps Veterans and others Evelyn E Smith Peggy A Wiederhold Thomas P Neary Warriors kick off SHAC play Lady Broncos stand at 2-1 Late Devil goals lead to Lady Warrior loss David R Carrington Sr 2017 Ohio Rural Heritage Festival Ripley DAR contributes towards new village flags Rural Heritage Festival event schedule Betty G Schatzman Robert L McAfee Paul V Tolle Herbert D Smith Helen R Little Eugene M Press Lady Broncos out to defend league title SHAC holds volleyball preview Lady Warriors packed with experience, talent for 2017 fall soccer campaign Georgetown’s Sininger off to excellent start for 2017 golf season RULH BOE recognizes Dr. Naylor for years of service as superintendent RULH Superintendent invites public to district open house Bob Groh Memorial Show set for August 26 at Heritage Festival ‘Support Your Veterans’ Car & Bike Show Danny F Dickson Eva J Smith Michael R Stewart Sr Charles McRoberts III Marsha B Thigpen Michael L Chinn William A Coyne Jr Woman found dead in Ripley A girl’s life on the gridiron Rockets face G-Men in preseason scrimmage 13th annual Bronco 5K Run and Fitness Walk draws a crowd William C Latham Over 20,000 pounds of trash picked up in and around Ohio River in Ripley Ripley Village Council approves water plans Steps at Rankin House closed Marilyn A Wren Larry E Carter Virginia L McQuitty Practices get underway for fall sports Jays soon to begin quest for SHAC title Western Brown to hold Meet the Teams Night and OHSAA parent meeting Aug. 8 Norville F Hardyman Carol J Tracy James Witt Ripley officer receives commendation for quick action Bicentennial at Ripley First Presbyterian RULH welcomes new school principals Aberdeen’s Police Dept. continues to grow Mary F McElroy Broncos out to defend SBAAC American Division soccer title Bronco 5K to take place Aug. 5 EHS volleyball team ready for new season Michael C Cooper Raymond Mays Harry E Smittle Jr Mary A Flaugher Western Brown’s Leto excels in Australia Rockets ready for 1st season in SBAAC Paddling, hiking activities available at Ohio State Parks SB Warriors get set to hit gridiron for 2nd year of varsity football Scotty W Johnson Glenna V Moertle Rickey L Hoffer Ruth E Ward David A Watson Janet L Dotson Vilvie S King Steven C Utter Cropper joins Fallis at Bethel-Tate Local kids find success in world of martial arts

RULH announces $8,000 scholarship winner


By Martha Jacob – Ripley Bee

During the April 20 Ripley Union Lewis Huntington School District Board of Education meeting, it was  announced by Kristi Scott that the winner of the Aberdeen Class of 1950 Scholarship was RULH senior Kristen Abbott.
“Ms. Scott used to write grant application for our school district,” Superintendent Dr. Linda Naylor said, “She has also worked with several community organizations on scholarships for kids. This year’s recipient will receive $2,000 a year for four years, for a total of $8,000. We were all very proud of Kristen Abbott.”
Superintendent Dr. Naylor’s report and recommendations included:
• Approved a trip by Marine Jr. ROTC to Quantico, VA, June 8-12 where students will participate in activities on the base, as well as travel to Washington D.C. for some tours and special marine events. The JROTC will pay for the trip
• Approved a trip by the RULH High School Spanish Club to San Juan, Puerto Rico in June of 2017. The trip will be paid for by fundraising activities and participants
• Approved the list of 87 potential graduates for 2016
•Approved the nonrenewal of all supplemental contracts issues to non-teaching employees for the 2015-16 school years.
• Approved administrative contracts with Bill Frazier, transportation supervisor for 2 years, Chris Smith, middle school principal for 2 years, Pam Sebastian, special education supervisor for 1 year and Dick Zurbuch, facilities and maintenance supervisor for 5 years
• Unpaid leave was approved for Theda Stidham
• Supplemental contracts were approved for Heather Butler, Jr. High boys and girls cross country coach, Jerry Kelley, high school boys and girls cross country coach, Marty Adams as high school boys varsity basketball coach, Rex Woodward, high school boys Jr. varsity basketball coach, Jamey Ellis, high school boys freshman coach, Chris Coleman as high school girls varsity basketball coach, Bradley Cannon as high school girls jr. varsity basketball coach, Marty Adams as high school girls soccer coach, Michael Scanlan as high school golf coach, Kim Myers as high school Jr. varsity cheerleading advisor, Martie Bradford, 8th grade cheerleading advisor, Latessa Ellis, 7th grade cheerleading advisor and Tommy Germann, 8th grade boys basketball coach.
• Several policies were approved for adoption by the board.
Dr. Naylor also commented that she had made several phone calls in regards to seating for the lecture hall at the high school and reported that she had a scheduled meeting with yet another vendor for estimates for new seating.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright The Ripley Bee