Rita Tarvin Rocket win streak reaches five G-Men ascend to 4-0 in SBAAC National Division with win at Williamsburg Jays soar to 3-1 with win at North Adams Young Lady Jays improving as season progresses Mary J Yockey Callie J Maynard Windle Blanton Daisy D Nevels RULH HS students visit Jungle Jims Aberdeen Council has busy end of the year River Village Christmas celebration begins SR 41 now open Gast’s three-point shower drowns the Tigers Lady Rockets capture wins over Ripley, Batavia Keplinger signs with Shawnee State Warriors down the Devils, fall to the Greyhounds Broncos edge out Williamsburg, 53-50 Carol S Newman John E Short RULH Elementary names ‘Go Green’ Students RE/MAX Local Experts opens in Williamsburg RULH wraps up ‘No Shave November’ fundraiser Eleven indicted by Brown County Grand Jury Donald C Vance John C Morris Rebecca E Simpson Hot start sets pace for Broncos’ 85-40 win over CNE G-Men get off to 1-1 start Lady Rockets start off season with tough string of road games Basketball Special: 2017-18 Katherine J Wolfe Virginia J Germann Rev Commadora Manning Mona K Kirker Ohio Rural Heritage Association donates to Food Pantry RULH FCCLA attends meeting in D.C. RULH MS students try ‘Tabletop Twitter’ Ripley Village Christmas update Bonita Planck Carol J Wagner Christopher O Richey Sr Five new members to enter WBHS Athletic Hall of Fame Blue Jays ready to soar under Woodward Fischer named to OPSWA All-Ohio First Team of football all-stars High school girls’ hoop action kicks off in Brown County Formation of new joint Fire & EMS District discussed RULH students learn about ‘Global Food’ Personal financial management class at RULH High School Dale G Ferriel John E Slack Nicholas A Arthur Bonnie J Roush Charles E Faul Phyllis A Mills Carl L Watson Marc W Bolce Robert R Moore Robert K King June R Williams William T Ishmael Sr Deborah J Napier High school hoop action begins Fayetteville SAY Girls Wing Soccer Team finishes season among state’s Final Four Devils visit Georgetown for OHSAA Foundation Games Grandfather charged in boy’s death ‘Real Money’ at RULH Middle School Ripley High School celebrates Veterans Day Reward increases for information leading to conviction in Stykes’ murder Ripley Village Christmas update Kenneth M McKinley Vilvens signs with Mount St. Joseph SBAAC awards girls tennis all-stars Layman inducted into Miami University Athletic Hall of Fame SBAAC hands out awards to First Team girls’ soccer all-stars John D Marks Aberdeen Police Department receives ‘Shop With a Cop’ donation Benefit to take place Nov. 17 for Grace Copple St. Michael students take part in Community Soup Supper Voters return Worley to the bench Ruby A Ratliff Donna J Moore Stella M Glasscock Ellen L Gelter Alverda T Guillermin Justin N Beach EHS dedicates ‘Kiser Court’ SBAAC awards First Team football all-stars, winning teams Sizer earns SBAAC American Division Volleyball Player of Year honors for 3rd straight year Broncos to host Blue Jays for OHSAA ‘Jimmy Young’ Foundation Game, Nov. 17 Vern W Kidd Jr Brown County Election Results – 2017 Michael D Hines Raymond W Napier Leslie E Boyle Gary L Barber RULH NHS welcomes new inductees K-9 Units and handlers visit RULH High School EMS members honored for service Road work on Ripley streets to begin

Sonner is Lee Award winner

Brown County teachers were honored at the annual Brown County In-Service held at Western Brown High School on Aug. 20. Over 600 teachers, administrators, and staff members were in attendance to acknowledge and applaud the nominees for the LEE Excellence in Education Award.

There were six teachers honored, including Krystal Haney – Western Brown nominee, Susan McElroy – Southern Hills Career and Technical Center nominee, Mary Sonner – Ripley Union Lewis Huntington nominee, James Loudan – Georgetown Exempted Village nominee, Kim Strunk – Fayetteville Perry nominee, and Sherry Torello –Eastern Brown nominee. This year’s honored recipient of the LEE Award is Sonner, a technology teacher for RULH School District.

The LEE Excellence in Education Award, initiated by Dr. J.W. Lee, of Georgetown, in conjunction with the Brown County Educational Service Center, recognizes the most outstanding teachers in the Brown County Schools. Throughout the last school year, nominations were made by colleagues, students, and community members of each school district.

Based on the following criteria, a candidate was chosen by each district to be a representative: worked as a full time classroom teacher, set high expectations for students and self, inspired students, colleagues, and the community, maintained a high level of professionalism and professional growth, demonstrated concern and respect for students, and employed in a Brown County school for the 2014-2015 school year.

Each candidate received a plaque of recognition and $250 to spend on classroom materials. The LEE winner received a personal check donated by an anonymous donor in the amount of $1,000.

From left, Mr. Steve Dembo – National Technology Guest Speaker, Mrs. Mary Sonner – Brown County Teacher of the Year, Dr. Linda Naylor – Superintendent of Ripley-Union-Lewis-Huntington School District, and Mr. James Frazier – Superintendent of the Brown County Educational Service Center.
http://ripleybee.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/web1_15.16-LEE-Winner.-Mary-Sonner1.jpgFrom left, Mr. Steve Dembo – National Technology Guest Speaker, Mrs. Mary Sonner – Brown County Teacher of the Year, Dr. Linda Naylor – Superintendent of Ripley-Union-Lewis-Huntington School District, and Mr. James Frazier – Superintendent of the Brown County Educational Service Center. Submitted photo

Staff Report

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright The Ripley Bee